Professor Yeo Kiat Seng
Associate Provost, International Relations

Yeo Kiat Seng received the BEng (EE) in 1993, and PhD (EE) in 1996 both from Nanyang Technological University Singapore (NTU). Currently, he is Associate Provost for International Relations at SUTD. He was also Associate Provost for Research previously. He has about 30 years of experience in industry, academia and consultancy. Before joining SUTD, he was Associate Chair (Research), Head of Circuits and Systems and Sub-Dean (Students Affairs) at NTU. Professor Yeo was also a Fellow of the Renaissance Engineering Programme (REP) and served as Senator and Advisory Board Member at NTU. As the Founding Director of VIRTUS, a S$52 million IC Design Centre of Excellence jointly set up by NTU and Singapore Economic Development Board (EDB), he contributed extensively to the economic development of integrated circuit design in Singapore by leading multidisciplinary research, with a focus on industry collaboration.

Kiat Seng is a widely known authority in low-power RF/mm-wave IC design and a recognized expert in CMOS technology. He has secured over S$70M of research funding as Principal Investigator from various funding agencies and the industry since 2000. He was a Series Editor of “Emerging Technologies in Circuits and Systems”, author of 9 books, 7 book chapters and has over 600 top-tier refereed journal and conference papers in his area of research and holds 38 patents, including 2 patents for the world’s smallest integrated transformer, a patent for the world’s smallest integrated filter for 60GHz standard, the inventor of several high Q-factor RF spiral inductors and co-inventor of quite a few novel circuit techniques for 5G wireless communication and RF/mm-wave IC applications.

Currently, Kiat Seng is a Council Member for the Singapore-Zhejiang Economic & Trade Council (SZETC), a Member of the Management Board of Temasek Laboratories at SUTD, the Republic Polytechnic’s (RP) Distinguished Academic, a Distinguished Visiting Academician to Changi General Hospital (CGH), a Member of the MIT-SUTD Collaboration Governing Board, a Member of Ngee Ann Polytechnic’s Expert Panel for School of Engineering, an Advisor to Hwa Chong Institution’s Board of Integrated Programme, a Member of SIA Engineering Company Technology Advisory Committee, a Member of Singapore Semiconductor Industry Association Complex Equipment Consortium, and an Editorial Board Member of Journal of Electronics/Circuit and Signal Processing. He has also contributed as Chairman, Co-Chair and Member of several national/society as well as industry/professional services. Kiat Seng was a Member of Board of Advisors of the Singapore Semiconductor Industry Association, a Council Member of the Assembly & Test WSQ Framework Industry Skills and Training of the Singapore Workforce Development Agency, and Chairman of Engineering Science Advisory Committee at Ngee Ann Polytechnic.

Kiat Seng holds/held key positions in many international conferences as Advisor, General Chair, Co-General Chair and Technical Chair. He served in the editorial board of IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques and was one of the Guest Editors of Journal of Circuits, Systems and Computers on Green Integrated Circuits and Systems from 2008 to 2010 and on Energy and Variability Aware Circuits and Systems from 2011 to 2013. Kiat Seng was awarded the Public Administration Medal (Bronze) on National Day 2009 by the President of the Republic of Singapore and the Nanyang Alumni Achievement Award in 2009 for his outstanding contributions to the university and society. Professor Yeo is an IEEE Fellow for his contributions to low-power integrated circuit design.