SUTD Electric Vehicle Design Challenge 2019 (SUTD EVDC 2019)

11 May 2019 - 12 May 2019 from 10AM Heartbeat@Bedok (11, Bedok North Street 1, Singapore 469662)

Watch teams pit their self-assembled Electric Vehicles against others in a two-day time trials!

After months of hard-work, 17 Polytechnics and Junior Colleges/High School student teams* will be putting their self-assembled Electric Vehicles (EVs) to race at the time trials happening over 2 days at the Heartbeat@Bedok.

Vote for the "Best Dressed Garage"!

Come check out the static displays, see the students' creativity in decorating their garages and root for your favourite team! 


Date/Time Programme
11 May (Saturday) &
12 May (Sunday) / 10AM to 5PM
- Static Display of EVs
- Time trials in the basement carpark of Heartbeat@Bedok
12 May (Sunday) / 4PM Arrival of Guest of Honour: SMS Chee Hong Tat
12 May (Sunday) / 5PM Prize presentation
- Learning Journey Award
- Judges’ Choice
- Best Dressed Garage
- 3rd Place
- 2nd Place
- 1st Place

Venue: Heartbeat@Bedok (11, Bedok North Street 1, Singapore 469662)

Participants with their EVs at the conclusion of the 2018 SUTD EV Design Challenge held at SUTD Campus.


The annual SUTD Electric Vehicle (EV) Design Challenge, now in its third year, was conceived with the objective to raise the awareness and interest in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) among youths in Singapore, in line with the national push in this direction. 
A total of 17 teams, including participation from the five Polytechnics and various High Schools and Junior Colleges*, attended workshops and lectures conducted by our very own students from the SUTD EV Club and professors. Teams are tasked to assemble the J19 EV from a kit designed by a group of students from the SUTD EV Club.


The assembled EVs will be evaluated on how they are assembled and any minor design modifications made. They will also go through mandatory safety inspections, before being put to race.  These inspections will take place separately on 9 May, at SUTD campus.
Finally, the EVs will compete in a two-day time trails which will take place in the basement carpark of Heartbeat@Bedok.
*Participating Schools
Anderson Serangoon Junior College
Anglo-Chinese School (Independent)
Catholic Junior College
Dunman High School
Eunoia Junior College
Hwa Chong Institution
Jurong Pioneer Junior College
Nanyang Polytechnic
National Junior College
Ngee Ann Polytechnic
Republic Polytechnic
River Valley High School
School of Science and Technology
Singapore Polytechnic
St. Joseph’s Institution
Temasek Polytechnic
Victoria-Cedar Alliance