Faculty and Staff Achievements

SNIC-AsCA2019 Distinguished Woman Chemist Award for Year 2023

Prof Yang Hui Ying SNIC-AsCA2019 Distinguished Woman Chemist Award
In recognition of her contribution to chemical research, Professor Yang Hui Ying (Engineering Product Development) has been selected as the year 2023 recipient for the SNIC-AsCA2019 Distinguished Woman Chemist Award. This prestigious award is presented only once to a researcher for her lifetime. As the Award recipient, Prof Yang will be giving a lecture at the Singapore National Chemistry Meeting (ChnmSG) to be held in August 2023.

Prof Yang currently leads the SUTD-CGU Dual Masters Programme in Nano-Electronic Engineering and Design (NEED) as programme director. Last year, she was also listed as one of the world’s top 2% scientists in the field of Nanoscience & Nanotechnology.

Established by the Singapore National Institute of Chemistry (SNIC), the SNIC-AsCA2019 Distinguished Woman Chemist Award gives recognition to women in academia, government agencies or industry, who have contributed significantly to chemical research, education or development. It is jointly funded by SNIC and the local organising committee chair of the 16th Conference of the Asian Crystallographic Association held at the National University of Singapore (17-20 December 2019).

3rd Place Winner at 2023 TigerLaunch Singapore

TigerLaunch Singapore SNAP Robotics
Team SNAP Robotics, comprising SUTD Engineering Product Development (EPD) research assistants Saikrishna Dontu and Chooi An Rong Aaron, won the 3rd place at 2023 TigerLaunch Singapore. Saikrishna is also an SUTD Master of Engineering alumni (Class of 2021) while Aaron is a current EPD PhD student.

They presented the design and proposed business model for the Reconfigurable Workspace Soft Gripper. The Reconfigurable Workspace Soft Gripper is a soft pneumatic gripper that is able to handle thin, fragile, soft and granular objects, thus capable of working in high-mix packaging environments. (Read more about the research ‘A Multimodal, Reconfigurable Workspace Soft Gripper for Advanced Grasping Tasks’ by Snehal Jain, Saikrishna Dontu, Joanne Ee Mei Teoh and Assistant Prof Pablo Valdivia Y Alvarado.)

TigerLaunch is the world’s biggest student-run entrepreneurship pitching competition founded by Princeton Entrepreneurship Club. The 2023 TigerLaunch Singapore was held on 28 January 2023, as part of the second day programme of UNICON 2023, organised by NUS Entrepreneurship Society.

Co-Chair of Publications Committee of the Society for Research in Child Development

Assoc Prof Yow Wei Quin
Associate Professor Yow Wei Quin has been appointed as Co-Chair of the Publications Committee of the Society for Research in Child Development. Her term starts on 23 March 2023 for a period of four years. She will take on responsibilities including the review of existing publications and evaluate proposals for new publications.

Assoc Prof Yow is the acting Head of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences (HASS) at SUTD. She has published more than 50 peer-refereed papers, conference proceedings and book chapters in top-tiered journals and conferences such as Developmental Science, Child Development, Journal of Gerontology Series B, Bilingualism: Language & Cognition, Frontiers in Psychology, Cognitive Science Society, etc.

Prof Cheong Koon Hean Appointed Non-Resident Ambassador to Finland

Prof Cheong Koon Hean and President of the Republic of Finland, Sauli Niinistö. (Image credit: Juhani Kandell/Office of the President of the Republic of Finland)
Professor Cheong Koon Hean, Chair of the Lee Kuan Yew Centre for Innovative Cities (LKYCIC) at SUTD, has been appointed as Singapore’s Non-Resident Ambassador to Finland.

Prof Cheong presented her credentials to the President of the Republic of Finland, Sauli Niinistö, on 15 February 2023, marking the commencement of her appointment.

ETHRWorld Southeast Asia’s HR Icons List: Top 100 Influential HR Leaders

Dr Jaclyn Lee ETHRWorld Southeast Asia HR Icons 2023
SUTD’s Chief Human Resource Officer, Dr Jaclyn Lee, has been listed within Southeast Asia’s top 100 most influential HR leaders by ETHRWorld Southeast Asia in their inaugural HR Icons list.

In celebration of the HR initiatives, milestones and accomplishments in recent years and to gain perspectives into the HR vision for 2023, the editorial team of ETHRWorld Southeast Asia has curated this top 100 list. The HR Icons are recognised based on their experience, influence, and contributions, and how they have “redefined what it means to lead the Future of Work”.

At SUTD, Dr Lee manages Strategic Human Resources and Capability Development as Chief Human Resource Officer. She has over 25 years of experience in HR in various industries. (View Dr Jaclyn Lee's profile)