Finnish-led international 6G technology cooperation expands to Singapore

13 Jul 2021

As part of the launch of Singapore’s first national Future Communications Research & Development Programme (FCP) at Asia Tech x Singapore event in Singapore, a Memorandum of Understanding was established with 6G Flagship, the world’s first and leading 6G research, development and innovation programme.

This partnership will launch research and development collaboration on 6G technology. Their goal is also to notably contribute to global standardisation and regulatory development of 6G technology. 6G Flagship is enthusiastic about the new deepened cooperation. Director of 6G Flagship, Academy Professor Matti Latva-aho finds it important for the Finnish 6G research and development: "The development of global breakthrough technologies, like 6G, always requires international collaboration. Therefore, partnerships with forerunner countries, such as Singapore, are vital for succeeding in 6G competition. Our collaboration will serve all Finnish 6G development when we work with Singapore in themes where mutual benefits can be achieved."

The partnership with FCP is implemented by the Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD). Director of the FCP, Professor Tony Quek of SUTD says: "As a host of the FCP, SUTD will lead and collaborate with world leading research institutions and institutions of higher learning to strengthen Singapore’s wireless communications ecosystem and accelerate the research and translation of future communication technologies."

6G Flagship is funded by the Academy of Finland and the University of Oulu for 2018−2026. Cooperation with Singapore is a part of the expansion of 6G Flagship’s international ecosystem such as Japan, Korea and Hexa-X.

See also:

About Future Communications Research & Development Programme

The Future Communications Research & Development Programme (FCP) is supported under Singapore’s Research, Innovation and Enterprise (RIE) efforts and will coordinate multidisciplinary research efforts across the RIE ecosystem, with Research Institutes (RIs), Institutes of Higher Learning (IHLs) and other RIE efforts.

As host institution, SUTD will lead collaboration across the Singapore ecosystem - Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR), Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (NTU), National University of Singapore (NUS), and Singapore Institute of Technology (SIT).

For enquires about the programme, please contact the FCP Office at